The Patrick Henry Leadership Award was created in 2010 and recognizes those who have worked to preserve Hanover’s rich history and heritage. This recognition is for leadership including action efforts in preservation, historical interpretation, education, etc. of Hanover County’s dense and diverse history and heritage.

The first awards were presented October 24, 2010 at what has become the Society’s annual Fall Awards, Membership and Fundraiser Gala. In keeping with the award’s Hanover history tradition, the event is held at a historic property or location in the county. The Host and Sponsor levels provide much of the event support along with the Individual and Couple participants. Special event recognition of our Hosts and Sponsors is afforded along with additional benefits. Please join us each year for this gala and major recognition event!!

Recipients of the
Patrick Henry Leadership Award

at Hickory Hill
Helen Kay Yates
Lois W. Wickham

at Cool Water
Hon. Frank D. Hargrove, Sr.
and Oriana Hargrove (deceased)
Dr. Robert Bluford, Jr.

at Rural Plains
Anne Geddy Cross
Richmond National Battlefield Park
David Ruth, Superintendent

at Scotchtown
Linda H. Marks
William E. Winfrey

at White Plains
Barbara Duke Jones
Jim Davis
Ben Buckley of the
Blue and Gray Education Society

at Janeway
Virginia Darnell
John T. Tucker, III
of the
Parson's Cause Foundation

at Hickory Hill Restored
Roseanne Shalf of the Ashland Museum
David Deal of the
Hanover Tavern Foundation

at Oakland
Florence L. Page Memorial Library of
Local History & Genealogy

award accepted by
Courtney Page Ferrell and
Library Director Judy Lowry

at the Hanover Tavern
Anne Gordon Curran, Sandy Smith Monolo, Carter Redd and Sarah Nevin
Trinity Church
Preservation, Inc.

2013 recipient Linda H. Marks
and HCHS President Art Taylor

2013 recipient William E. Winfrey

2014 recipient Barbara Duke Jones

2014 recipients Jim Davis and Ben Buckley
of the Blue & Gray Education Society

2015 recipients
John T. Tucker, III and Virginia Darnell,
with HCHS President Art Taylor

2016 recipients
Roseanne Shalf and David Deal
with HCHS President Faye Wade

2017 recipients
Courtney Page Ferrell and Judy Lowry
with HCHS President Faye Wade

2018 recipients
Anne Gordon Curran, Sandy Smith Monolo, Carter Redd and Sarah Nevin
of Trinity Church Preservation, Inc.