Washington-Franklin Hall, dating to 1872, was the first of Randolph-Macon College's structures to be built when the school relocated to Ashland after the Civil War. It was named after two student organizations: The Washington Literary Society and the Franklin Debate Society, and was the first brick building in Ashland.

The presentation of the award: Don Makowsky, J.P. Payne, HCBHS Founder Carolyn Hemphill, Art Taylor, HCHS President Faye Wade, Mary Waddy, Sue Nelson and HCBHS President Alphine Jefferson.

The Hanover County Historical Society's tenth annual Patrick Henry Leadership Award Gala took place on Tuesday, September 10, 2019, in Randolph Macon College's historic Washington-Franklin Hall, in Ashland.

Society President Faye Wade presented this year's award to Carolyn Hemphill, founder of the Hanover County Black Heritage Society. Heavy hors d'oeuvres were catered by Randolph-Macon, and the award was provided by Cowardin Jewelers.

Carolyn Hemphill of the Hanover County Black Heritage Society,
with HCHS President Faye Wade.

Some 42 HCHS members and guests attended the event. Alphine Jefferson, President of the Hanover County Black Heritage Society and an instructor at Randolph-Macon, gave attendees a brief history of the Washington-Franklin Hall, and a 3D display featuring aerial photographs of Randolph-Macon and its surrounding area in the 1940's was presented by Don Little. Floyd Lane and Country Tradition provided musical entertainment.

Right: Ashland in the 1940's was much less developed than it is today. Don Little supervises the 3D display, showing little Ashland surrounded by wilderness.