Home of the Nelsons and Pages since 1812, Oakland was built by Captain Thomas Nelson, son of Colonel Hugh Nelson of Yorktown, on a portion of General Thomas Nelson's land. Oakland then passed to Colonel William Nelson, who led Nelson's Artillery in the Civil War.

The Reverend Robert Nelson was a missionary to China and father of Ruth Nelson who became the wife of Rosewell Page. His brother, Thomas Nelson Page was a lawyer, diplomat and author, who captured the romance of the old South in his stories. In Two Little Confederates, Page describes Oakland, which had been enlarged several times, as having "as many wings as Ezekiel."

When the house burned in 1899, Thomas Nelson Page had it rebuilt along similar lines using the original foundations and chimneys. The east wing would later become a single large room. The "old parlour" was described by Rosewell Page Jr. in his newspaper column, Voice of the Native, as having been "built for the comfort and convenience of a great Virginia lady, her family and friends."

The rear of Oakland.

Oakland, approached by a long shaded lane, is situated on the knoll of a spacious lawn with old shade trees framing the house. The smokehouse, dating to 1812, kitchen, Delco house and barns complete the picturesque setting. Oakland has been beautifully restored by Anne and Rosewell Page III.

Oakland's Smokehouse and Kitchen along the house's west side.